2 on 1 out

by greg
(washington state)



2 ladies on 1 out.A pop to left field.a catch.lady at 3rd tags and scores.lady at 2nd doesnt tag.shes caught almost on third base.Ball is thrown to 2nd to complete the double play.Question,does the run score?
Highschool ladies fastpitch.Washington state

Comments for 2 on 1 out

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Good thing I looked it up ...
by: Dan

Mi initial instincts told me the run would not count, as it is a "force play" at second. Apparently, my initial instincts were wrong. Here is what I found in my "Official Rules of Softball":

RUN SCORING ON THE THIRD OUT OF AN INNNING


A run will not score if the third out of the inning is a pitout at first base (batter-runner) or at another base if the preceding runner is forced because of the batter becoming a base-runner.

Missed bases could result in a force out (i.e. If the runner from first base missed second base on a base hit and that was the third out of the inning when properly appealed, any run(s) scored would not count.)

An appeal play on a runner leaving a base too soon on a caught fly ball is considered a time play and not a force. If the appeal results in the third out, any runners preceding the appealed runner would score if they crossed home plate prior to the out.

------------


So, from this, it comes down to timing. Did the runner cross home plate before the ball got to second base and executed the out. If the run corssed first, run counts. If not, no run.

Hope this help.

Dan

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Your Softball Questions.







Search Our
Family of Sites:




Translate the Page




Equipment Corner

fastpitch softball coaching
Coaching Guides & DVDs

fastpitch softball coaching
Fastpitch Bats

fastpitch softball coaching
Fielding Gloves



Follow us on
Twitter




Become a
Facebook Fan