Baseball coach

can the catcher call time out after ball four with runner on third in girls softball

Comments for Baseball coach

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Catcher Timeout
by: Dan

I have seen catchers do this. I assume as long as the umpire grants the timeout, then it is in affect. I am guessing the catcher is doing this, assuming no one is on second, to stop the batter walking from first to continue on to second base. You may want to check with the umpire prior to the game, assuming you are the coach.

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Requesting time
by: Anonymous

Fastpitch softball is a live ball game and the umpire should not grant time until all play has ceased. A batter who receives ball 4 becomes a batter/runner just the same as any batter who has put the ball into play other than they cannot be put out at 1st base. The umpire should not be granting time until all play has ceased and the ball is back with the pitcher in the circle.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Your Softball Questions.







Search Our
Family of Sites:




Translate the Page




Equipment Corner

fastpitch softball coaching
Coaching Guides & DVDs

fastpitch softball coaching
Fastpitch Bats

fastpitch softball coaching
Fielding Gloves



Follow us on
Twitter




Become a
Facebook Fan