Bases load force out

by Coach P
(Stafford VA)

Okay so bases are loaded ground ball to the pitcher with first base angle. The pitcher throw to first and the first baseman after stepping on the bag throw the ball to the catcher. The catcher step on the home plate but the runner at third base and stay on the base without trying to advance. The second base runner run back to second and the first base runner didn't move at all. The umpire call the batter out but allow the other three runners to stay on bases. Should the third base runner be call out as well for the double play on the force out? I was always under the impression that it is a force out regardless of the other in which the double play is done.

Comments for Bases load force out

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Force out taken off..
by: Dan

Coach,

Thank you for your question. Once the first baseman took the play at first, the force out is off for the other bases. (There was no runner forcing the other runners to advance) In fact, if the runner at third did try to score, the catcher would have had to tag the runner in order to create the out.

Good luck with your season!

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Your Softball Questions.







Search Our
Family of Sites:




Translate the Page




Equipment Corner

fastpitch softball coaching
Coaching Guides & DVDs

fastpitch softball coaching
Fastpitch Bats

fastpitch softball coaching
Fielding Gloves



Follow us on
Twitter




Become a
Facebook Fan