batter is out



when is a batter out? is she out when she bunts a ball and drops the bat into fair territory,and the ball hits the bat in fair territory?

Comments for batter is out

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Correct Ruling
by: Coach Dan

Thank you for your question.

Yes, the umpire made the correct call. Once a bunt is made, the batter cannot hit the ball with her bat in fair territory. That is obstruction. Not only is the batter out, but the play is dead and the base runners must return to their original case.

Dropping the bat behind the bunted ball is an old trick to make it a little more difficult for the catcher to field the ball quickly and easily by forcing the catcher to have to navigate/jump around the bat. The bat does not have to be dropped so close to the ball that it is in danger of rolling to hit the ball. Just in the path the catcher would take to field the ball. It cannot, however, at any point touch the ball.

Kind regards,
Dan

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Your Softball Questions.







Search Our
Family of Sites:




Translate the Page




Equipment Corner

fastpitch softball coaching
Coaching Guides & DVDs

fastpitch softball coaching
Fastpitch Bats

fastpitch softball coaching
Fielding Gloves



Follow us on
Twitter




Become a
Facebook Fan