bobleach@suddenlink.net

by bob
(Victoria,Tx USA)



Why does the base ump station himself/herself behind the SS with runners on base and still think that he/she can call a close play at 1st base correctly???

Comments for bobleach@suddenlink.net

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Positioning by the Umpire
by: Dan

Hi Bob,

Thanks for your question. With runners on base, the field umpire is suppose to be concerned with lead runners looking to advance to second or third. This is particularly true if it is a tag play at third (runner on second only). The thought is to make sure the lead play is called correctly as it will have a big influence on the game. As first is always a force, the umpire should be able to see the timing of the play at first and can always get help from the home plate umpire. With only two umpires, they need to cover the most critical situations (balls & strikes and lead runners).

Hope this helps.

Kind regards,

Dan

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Your Softball Questions.







Search Our
Family of Sites:




Translate the Page




Equipment Corner

fastpitch softball coaching
Coaching Guides & DVDs

fastpitch softball coaching
Fastpitch Bats

fastpitch softball coaching
Fielding Gloves



Follow us on
Twitter




Become a
Facebook Fan