Does run count?



Runners on 1st and 3rd, one out. Batter hits fly out to left. Runner on third tags and scores. Runner on first thinks there are two outs and heads to second without tagging. Ball is thrown to first before player returns and 3rd out is made. Runner scored before player at first is thrown out. Does run count?

Comments for Does run count?

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Interesting Question
by: Coach Dan

My reading of the rules would say the run counts if the runner at third tagged legally and scored before the throw to first to get the other runner out. The rule states as follows:

"Tag-Ups: If a runner leaves a base too soon on a caught fly ball and returns in an attempt to retag, this is considered a time play and not a force out. If the appeal is the third out, all runs scored by runners in advance of the appealed runner and scored ahead of the legal appeal would count."

In essense the runner at first left early, as she never tagged up. The throw to first caused her to be out as she did not retag and she is out. However, the runs that scored ahead of the play to first do count.

Hope this helps,

Dan

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Follow up
by: Anonymous

What if the runner from first did not attempt to return to first, not realizing their mistake?

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Doesn't Matter
by: Dan

It does not matter whether the runner attempted to return to first. Because it is defined as a timing play and not a force play, the determination of whether the run counts or not is whether the run scored before or after the out was recorded at first. If before, it counts as a run. If after it dies not count. Obviously, this is totally different than a force play (like a double play ground ball, with runner on first forced at second and batter forced at first with runner ar third coming home). In that case, the run does not count. But in your scenario, because it is a timing play, the timing of the run scoring and the out at first being recorded determines if the run counts.

Hope this helps.

Kind regards,
Dan


Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Your Softball Questions.







Search Our
Family of Sites:




Translate the Page




Equipment Corner

fastpitch softball coaching
Coaching Guides & DVDs

fastpitch softball coaching
Fastpitch Bats

fastpitch softball coaching
Fielding Gloves



Follow us on
Twitter




Become a
Facebook Fan