Out at Homeplate

by Nicole Dadurian
(Houston, TX)

Question:

Grounder hit to pitcher (bases loaded) pitcher throws home catcher catches ball tags player on face part of the helmet. Ump called safe told catcher she cannot tag on face it has to be on the body. Is this an ASA Fastpitch rule?

Comments for Out at Homeplate

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Tag at the plate
by: Dan

Hi Nicole,

My first question would be why didn't the catcher step on the plate as there was a force out.

Since she did apply the tag, I do not know why she would not be called out if she tug the runner prior to the runner touching home plate. I am not aware of any rule (I assume if it does exist, it is for safety reasons) stating that you cannot tag the runner on the helmet. I would open it up to other readers.

Dan

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Your Softball Questions.







Search Our
Family of Sites:




Translate the Page




Equipment Corner

fastpitch softball coaching
Coaching Guides & DVDs

fastpitch softball coaching
Fastpitch Bats

fastpitch softball coaching
Fielding Gloves



Follow us on
Twitter




Become a
Facebook Fan