Run Scoring Question

by K
(48038)

Had unique situation occur in a 12U girls softball game. Umpire ruled that the run did NOT count, which I believe is correct.


Situation and sequence of events:
1 out
runners on 2B and 3B
batter hits ground ball to shortstop
shortstop tags runner running from 2B to 3B for second out
runner from third reaches home plate
shortstop throws to first getting the batter/runner for third out on a force

The umpire ruled that run does not count. I believe that is correct based on the language I could find, which was essentially that a run does not score when the batter/runner makes the third out on a force play at first base.

I believe that had the sequence of events been slightly different then the run would have have counted. For example, had the ball been hit to first base and the firstbaseman stepped on first base for the second out and then thrown to the third baseman who tagged the runner from 2B to 3B for the third out, then the run WOULD have counted since the batter/runner being forced out at first was only the second out of the inning.

The key is that the batter/runner made the third out on a force at first base.

Can you confirm and provide examples or citations from the rule book or interpretations?

Thank you.

Comments for Run Scoring Question

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I agree
by: Dan

K,

My interpretation is the same as yours. With a double play, last out force at first, no run scores.

Thank you for the question!

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Your Softball Questions.







Search Our
Family of Sites:




Translate the Page




Equipment Corner

fastpitch softball coaching
Coaching Guides & DVDs

fastpitch softball coaching
Fastpitch Bats

fastpitch softball coaching
Fielding Gloves



Follow us on
Twitter




Become a
Facebook Fan