Tag out

Can a first baseman tag a bag with his glove hand while holding the ball in the other hand and get the runner out?

Comments for Tag out

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Force Play
by: Dan

Sorry for the delay in responding. I asked a couple umpire friends and they said that since it was a force play, the glove touching the base while the ball was in the other hand would complete the force play. It is no different than when the first baseman has her foot on the bag while catching the ball in a routine play. When the ball must be in the glove for the out is on a tag play.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Your Softball Questions.







Search Our
Family of Sites:




Translate the Page




Equipment Corner

fastpitch softball coaching
Coaching Guides & DVDs

fastpitch softball coaching
Fastpitch Bats

fastpitch softball coaching
Fielding Gloves



Follow us on
Twitter




Become a
Facebook Fan