You make the call

by umpire

2 outs, runner at third. Ball gets away from the catcher but she regains control of it and is interfered with by the batter ,as she attempts to tag the runner trying to score. Is there an out and, if so, who leads off the next inning?




Comments for You make the call

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Play at the Plate
by: Dan

Thank you for your question. Once the ball gets away from the catcher, the batter is supposed to get out of the way of the play. If she interferes with the catcher, the umpire will call the runner out and the batter will lead off the next inning.

Now, this is all subject to the umpire's discretion. The umpire could decide that the batter did not alter the outcome of the play, in which case, the run scores and the at bat continues.

Again, it is up to the discretion of the umpire. As I did not see the actual play, I would side with how the umpire ruled.

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
2 bases
by: Anonymous

No, 2 bases from where the runners are at the time of the throw,

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Your Softball Questions.







Search Our
Family of Sites:




Translate the Page




Equipment Corner

fastpitch softball coaching
Coaching Guides & DVDs

fastpitch softball coaching
Fastpitch Bats

fastpitch softball coaching
Fielding Gloves



Follow us on
Twitter




Become a
Facebook Fan