Base running

by B. Walker
(Barneveld, WI, USA)

Runner A is on first base. Player B hits a fly ball to the outfield and it is dropped. In the process of running the bases, player B runs past player A while going to second base. Player B realizes she is ahead of the of player A and retreats back towards first base before she touches second base. Player A then runs to second and then third base, while player B advances to second base. Are both players safe?

Comments for Base running

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

The Runner is Out...
by: Dan

Hi B,

Thank you for your question. The only thing that I can find regarding the situation you laid out is:

Rule 8 (Batter-Runner and Runner) Section 8 (The Runner is Out) D: When the runner physically passes a preceding runner before the runner has been put out. NOTE: If this the third out of the inning, any runs scored prior to the out for passing a preceding runner would count.

I cannot find anything about Runner B moving back behind Runner A. I also cannot find anything about creating a dead ball situation (Rule 8, Section 7) and requiring Runner A to go back to first. So, based on only finding this relevant to your situation, it would seem that Runner B is out, and Runner A is safe at third.

I would welcome the umpires out there to give their ruling.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Your Softball Questions.

Search Our
Family of Sites:

Translate the Page

Equipment Corner

fastpitch softball coaching
Coaching Guides & DVDs

fastpitch softball coaching
Fastpitch Bats

fastpitch softball coaching
Fielding Gloves

Follow us on

Become a
Facebook Fan