Batted Bunt out of the Box

by Grandfather

A player bunted a ball straight down in front oof home plate, it bounced straight back up. The player took one step out of the box towards first, still holding her bat, which the ball then struck. The umpire called it a foul ball. I believe she should have been called out. Who is right?

Comments for Batted Bunt out of the Box

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Batter is ...
by: Dan

Hi Grandfather,

Thank you for your question. The question turns on whether the umpire, by his or her judgement, ruled that the batter was still in the batter's box. Per Rule 7 (Batting), Section 6 (Batter is out) D: When an entire foot is touching the ground completely outside the lines of the batters box.

Under Rule 7, Section 6, I: When the batter hits a fair ball with the bat a second time in fair territory. EXCEPTION: If the batter is standing in the batter's box and contact is made while the bat is in the batter's hand, a foul ball is ruled even if the ball is hit a second time over fair territory.

So, whether the batter is out or it was a foul ball is determined if at least one foot was down and totally out of the batter's box.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Your Softball Questions.







Search Our
Family of Sites:




Translate the Page




Equipment Corner

fastpitch softball coaching
Coaching Guides & DVDs

fastpitch softball coaching
Fastpitch Bats

fastpitch softball coaching
Fielding Gloves



Follow us on
Twitter




Become a
Facebook Fan