Does The Run Count

The bases are loaded and there is one out. There is a flyball hit to right field that is caught for the 2nd out. The runner on third tags and advances to the plate and scores. The right fielder throws the ball back to the pitcher. The defensive teams coach claims that the runner who was on 2nd base and tagged up and went to 3rd base left early. they appeal and the umpire says she did leave early and is called out


The question is does the run count that tagged from third and scored on the sac fly?

Comments for Does The Run Count

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
The Run Does not Count
by: Dan

Hi Ryan,

Under Rule 5 - The Game; Section 5 - Scoring of Runs; B: No run shall be scored if the third out of the inning is the result of (3) A preceding runner is declared out on an appeal play. NOTE: An appeal can be made after the third out in order to nullify a run.

That is self-explanatory that the run does not count.

Good luck with your season!

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Your Softball Questions.







Search Our
Family of Sites:




Translate the Page




Equipment Corner

fastpitch softball coaching
Coaching Guides & DVDs

fastpitch softball coaching
Fastpitch Bats

fastpitch softball coaching
Fielding Gloves



Follow us on
Twitter




Become a
Facebook Fan