First Base Coach

by Darren Butland
(Oshawa, Ontario, Canada )

Bases loaded, 1 out, batter strikes out. The runner on first breaks for second base and is immediately called back sliding into first as the first baseman catches the ball with their foot on the bag before our runner arrives but no tag is applied before our runner gets back to first base. The runner on third has been sent to home and the runner on second is breaking for third.


Q1. Does our runner returning to first have to be tagged out or is it a force out?

Q2. Even if the runners on second and third were still on their bases, would the runner returning to first have to be tagged out or does it qualify as a force out?

Comments for First Base Coach

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Force or Tag Play
by: Dan

Hi Darren,

I am not sure why this is considered a force play. It seems like an obvious tag play for the runner on first returning to first. It seems so obvious that I looked it up in the rule book and still could not com eup with a reason why this would be considered a tag play. It does not matter that there were runners on second and third. It is still a tag play on first. The only exception I can think of is if there was a special rule put in for the league/tournament you were playing in for your particular age group. Ordinarily, this should be a tag play.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Your Softball Questions.







Search Our
Family of Sites:




Translate the Page




Equipment Corner

fastpitch softball coaching
Coaching Guides & DVDs

fastpitch softball coaching
Fastpitch Bats

fastpitch softball coaching
Fielding Gloves



Follow us on
Twitter




Become a
Facebook Fan