Protest on tag

Runner on 2nd and 3rd 1 out. Fly ball to left and caught tag from 3rd and 2nd safe at home and 3rd . Other team protested tag from 2nd and runner from 2nd was called out for leaving early. Question is does the run still count?

Comments for Protest on tag

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Count Runs on an Appeal Play?
by: Dan

Thank you for your question. Based on the section I see, the run would count. Here is what I found.

Under Rule 12 (Use of ASA Playing Rules) 1 (Appeals) K Tag-ups

If the runner leaves too soon on a caught fly ball and returns in an attempt to retag, this is considered a time play and not a force out. If the appeal is the third out, all runs scored by runners in advance of the appealed runner and scored ahead of the legal appeal count.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Your Softball Questions.







Search Our
Family of Sites:




Translate the Page




Equipment Corner

fastpitch softball coaching
Coaching Guides & DVDs

fastpitch softball coaching
Fastpitch Bats

fastpitch softball coaching
Fielding Gloves



Follow us on
Twitter




Become a
Facebook Fan