Runner out

by Dat
(India)

A runner has been stopped on the second base by the second base defensive player with ball in hand.

The defensive player on the second base then passes the ball to the pitcher for the next pitch and at the same time the runner starts off running again to the next base. Is the runner out?

Comments for Runner out

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Runner Out
by: Dan

Hi Dat,

I am a little confused by the scenario you are providing. Was the runner ruled out by the umpire when he/she was tagged by the defensive player? If so, the runner is out.

The next possibility is the runner was ruled safe by the umpire. If the defensive player gave the ball to the pitcher while the pitcher is in the circle, if the runner had stopped at second base, the runner cannot start to run until after the pitcher releases the ball on the next pitch. If the runner starts running prior to that, the runner is out.

If I did not get the situation correct, please ask provide additional information.

Thank you for your question!

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Your Softball Questions.







Search Our
Family of Sites:




Translate the Page




Equipment Corner

fastpitch softball coaching
Coaching Guides & DVDs

fastpitch softball coaching
Fastpitch Bats

fastpitch softball coaching
Fielding Gloves



Follow us on
Twitter




Become a
Facebook Fan