Strike on no pitch?

by Scott
(Franklin Wi)

Yesterday in our game we had a hitter in the box and had 2 strikes on her. She asked for time and stepped out of the box. The pitcher did not throw a pitch but the ump called strike (so she struck out)? Without a pitch!! He said that the pitcher put her hands together and you can't call time out. What rule is that I have been playing and coaching for 20 years.

Comments for Strike on no pitch?

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Strike called on no pitch
by: Dan

Scott,

Here is what I found out. Under Rule 7 (Batting), section 4 (A strike is called by the umpire), J, and it says for Junior Olympic Only:


When between pitches, the batter leaves the batter's box illegally or does not return to the box after a warning.


That is the closest I could find on your situation. Was there a warning? If she stepped out without and was not granted a time out, it is stepping out illegally. But without a warning, there is definitely a fine line.


Good luck with your season,
Dan

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Your Softball Questions.







Search Our
Family of Sites:




Translate the Page




Equipment Corner

fastpitch softball coaching
Coaching Guides & DVDs

fastpitch softball coaching
Fastpitch Bats

fastpitch softball coaching
Fielding Gloves



Follow us on
Twitter




Become a
Facebook Fan