Thrown Bat

by Scott James
(Columbus, Oh USA)

Last night, in my daughter's 8u softball game, one of her teammates was called out for throwing the bat. Here is the situation: She had been warned 2 times for throwing the bat. In her last at bat, she hit a foul ball and threw her bat (didn't hit the catcher or fence). The umpire called her out. In all of my years in being involved with baseball and softball, I can't decide if that is the right call or not. Or should she have been given another chance because it was a foul ball. What is correct call?

Comments for Thrown Bat

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Thrown bat
by: Dan

Hi Scott,

I have seen that rule enforced quite often. Generally, it is even in the ground rules. It has to be about player safety, and it is a good rule to enforce. At 8U, it has to be about learning the fundamental first. Given she was warned twice, the ump did the right thing.

Enjoy your daughter's season!

Dan

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
player umpire safety
by: Anonymous

thrown bats are always a concern for all players and umpires it is a huge safety factor that needs addressed for all as well as live play and a batter swinging a bat and runner advancing from 3rd catcher and umpire are at risk a lot of times umpires jobs are hard because of batter swinging bat and not stepping back out of the way

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Your Softball Questions.







Search Our
Family of Sites:




Translate the Page




Equipment Corner

fastpitch softball coaching
Coaching Guides & DVDs

fastpitch softball coaching
Fastpitch Bats

fastpitch softball coaching
Fielding Gloves



Follow us on
Twitter




Become a
Facebook Fan